Weedon Bec Parish Council

Serving the people of Weedon Bec

Clerk: Mrs Susan Halkett
16, St Mary's Way, Weedon
Northamptonshire NN7 4QL

Council of the Year 2017

Posted: Wed, 11 Oct 2017 16:05 by Susan Halkett

Council of the Year 2017

Weedon Bec Parish Council is proud to announce it has won the prestigious Northamptonshire Council of the Year 2017 Award.

The award was presented to Zoe O'Toole, Chairman of Weedon Bec Parish Council, at the Annual General Meeting of Northamptonshire County Association of Local Councils (NCALC) by the chairman of NALC (National Association of Local Councils), Sue Baxter, on Saturday 7th October 2017.

In his speech, Danny Moody, CEO of NCALC said 'Weedon Bec Parish Council embarked on a project almost three years ago to clear and level an area of a playing field known locally as "The Mound". It turned out though that The Mound comprised a mixture of asbestos fibres and unexploded bombs (thought to come from the local Royal Ordnance Depot?). The sheer scale of the issues that Weedon Bec Parish Council has been faced with is incredible, but all against an unfortunate backdrop of criticism and some really quite unfair provocation. This award is not for the project though, which is ongoing; it is for the people. The clerk, Sue Halkett; the chairman, Zoe O'Toole; and all the councillors that have seen it through this far, when the easier option would have been to walk away. This award is to say thank you for your courage, your fortitude, your leadership, and your example."

After receiving the award, Zoe O'Toole said "We are absolutely delighted to receive this award. Weedon Bec Parish Council has had to deal with unique and unchartered issues regarding The Mound. The Council has spent a considerable amount of time attempting to resolve these issues while dealing with the normal responsibilities of a Parish Council. It is wonderful to receive this award in recognition of our diligence and commitment."

Tags: News